Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Conflict of Interest

Question Conflict of Interest

I'm not a lawyer, but I have a question that maybe someone could answer for me. Isn't it a conflict of interest for Vince Graber to vote on anything to do with Americorp or the Birchfield because both his wife and brother-in-law work there? His wife works for Americorp and his brother-in-law works for building and grounds. I remember Paul Clark sustaining from voting when it involved one of his clients, so shouldn't Vince do the same?

Oh, c'mon.... you know better!

Quote Originally Posted by snowwhite
    I'm not a lawyer, but I have a question that maybe someone could answer for me. Isn't it a conflict of interest for Vince Graber to vote on anything to do with Americorp or the Birchfield because both his wife and brother-in-law work there? His wife works for Americorp and his brother-in-law works for building and grounds. I remember Paul Clark sustaining from voting when it involved one of his clients, so shouldn't Vince do the same?
    Of course he should abstain- but because he's an ignorant, arrogant, pos, he'll continue to do whatever he feels like unless someone moves to stop him. Hopefully the law department will look into this and make a decision on this- or someone take it to civil court.

Where's DT Warren on this?

Since the Town does not have a good enforceable ethics code it defaults to state law which is ambiguous at best in this factual situation.

I agree that it has an appearance of impropriety that should have been avoided.
    “We in America do not have government by the majority. We have government by the majority who participate.” ― Thomas Jefferson

If it then defaults to the State...

Quote Originally Posted by dtwarren
    Since the Town does not have a good enforceable ethics code it defaults to state law which is ambiguous at best in this factual situation.

I agree that it has an appearance of impropriety that should have been avoided.