Thread: Sorry, but we just don’t have the money

Sorry, but we just don’t have the money

Lee's article regarding the teachers wanting the Lancaster school district to consider offering another retirement incentive plan-

Statement from BOE President McCay- "As a board member I feel a need to be fiscally responsible to my community and I can’t support your request.”

Statement from BOE member Zalenski - “We looked at this from every angle, even amortizing the funding. We just don’t have the money ($207,000) to do this.”

Statement from BOE member Graber- “We will be lucky to get what we got this year and we will be facing another budget crisis having to make more difficult decisions on how to balance it. It would be irresponsible for us to do this.”

Statement from new BOE member Christopher- “But in order for us to do this and pay as you go with x amount of dollars, we don’t have that money. As a teacher I am totally sympathetic to your cause, but there is no money; and I am telling you that teacher to teacher. We can’t close a school, lay off teachers and have you ask us to come up with more money. We can’t go on two to three years of making predictions when we don’t know what will happen in that timeframe. Four million in state aid was cut this past year, trust me when I say that next year will be even worse.”

It's unbelievable but I agree with everyone of the school board members, even the the one (teacher) that I didn't vote for.

Georgia L Schlager

How did she ever get elected??????

BRAVO,

"Newly elected BOE member Brenda Christopher interjected that as a teacher herself she well understood the point the teachers were making.

“But in order for us to do this and pay as you go with x amount of dollars, we don’t have that money. As a teacher I am totally sympathetic to your cause, but there is no money; and I am telling you that teacher to teacher.

We can’t close a school, lay off teachers and have you ask us to come up with more money.