Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Queen City Will Get Help Removing Some of Many Eyesores

Queen City Will Get Help Removing Some of Many Eyesores

(Buffalo, NY, April 2, 2006) - - Two state lawmakers were in Buffalo to announce that the Queen City will get some help removing some of its many eyesores.

State Senator Marc Coppola and Assemblyman Sam Hoyt announced that five million dollars from the state budget will cover the cost of demolitions throughout the city.

Coppola and Hoyt say there are at least 750 properties set for demolition in the city, and by tearing them down, the city will cut the number of police and fire calls to abandoned homes in Buffalo.
    I know that as a city resident, I for one, will not miss any of these houses. I'd rather see empty lots with potential for rebuilding than houses that are potential safety hazards and that are just awful eyesores.

Does anyone know what happens to a property if it was auctioned off and the purchaser doesn't complete the transaction? I know someone who decided to dump his house (unfortunately). Supposedly someone purchased it in the auction but I still see him listed as the owner. No one knows if the transaction was ever completed since the old owner is still listed. Does the property bounce to the city then? Does the city hold the original owner accountable?

I think the city needs to hold the owners accountable. If someone notices the loss of potential and income in your property, I don't think it's fair that they can just bail and have no action taken against him/her.

That's part of the reason why the city, particularly the East Side, is in the condition it's in. No one wants to live next to an abandoned building. It's a fire hazard, potential crack house, potential gang hangout, etc. Things like this tend to set off a chain reaction.