Thread: The Randolph Childrens Home

The Randolph Childrens Home

I'm not sure how many of you have heard of this place, but it's in Randolph...out in Amish country (near Jamestown.

I was a resident of the Randolph Children's Home from the end of my 8th grade year. I ended up loving Randolph and stayed until the end of my sophomore year of high school.

I was there because I was fairly "bad." Mostly at home, and my parents didn't know what to do with me....so they decided to give me a shock.

That it was. The home helped me see the light, brothers and sisters. I remember a roomate I had...JC. He thought he may have killed someone. There were kids in this place who had assaulted, robbed, maybe murdered.
    However, many of them were just human beings who had taken the wrong path.
    I obviously didn't want to end up like them. I didn't. Many like me left that place around the same time.

Now, the place is different. A whole new type of kid is there. Truly dangerous, no remorse. There was a riot there a few weeks ago. It is truly out of control, and that is scary.
    Randolph isn't a lockup or anything of the sort. It was meant as a place to guide troubled children.
    What they've got now is insane...

It seems like places such as Randolph are being asked to work with more kids they shouldn't be working with, because the youth lockups (such as East Ferry) are unable to fit them.

It's a pretty sad thing for an organization that dedicated its existence to children, to be run into the ground because they are being asked to deal with behaviors they weren't meant to.
    http://www.buffaloreuse.org/~kool aid free zone~

That's very interesting! I live in Jamestown and never heard about the riot -- ie, it didn't make the either the Jamestown or Buffalo news media (although the hockey players who trashed the Viking Temple in downtown Jamestown made the national news!). Usually, that kind of stuff gets spread far and wide in this area.