Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Should the Town of OP be Responsible for Clearing Sidewalks?

Should the Town of OP be Responsible for Clearing Sidewalks?

Once again the Hot Topic of who's responsible for clearing sidewalks in the Town of Orchard Park has arisen again.

Currently as a Village resident, I enjoy the benefit of having my sidewalks cleared on a regular basis. It appears that the Town residents are not afforded the same benefit. You may recall this topic being brought to the forefront just a couple of years ago and many residents / business owners on North Buffalo Rd fought to also have this benefit covered by the Town with great resistence from the Town Board.

There is a new sheriff in town and I'm wondering if this will be reviewed again for possible consideration. Not sure how older residents can be expected to comply with their supposed ordinance but I for one would not be able to maintain my own if it weren't for the Village.

http://www.buffalonews.com/cityregion/story/960549.html

TOWN OF ORCHARD PARK
    Clear-sidewalk rule hard to enforce in Orchard Park
    By Barbara O’Brien
    NEWS STAFF REPORTER
    Updated: February 18, 2010, 8:33 am /
    Published: February 18, 2010, 8:33 am
    Orchard Park’s ordinance requiring sidewalks to be clear of snow is difficult to enforce, town officials told a woman complaining of snow-filled sidewalks.

“We have an ordinance that requires people to clear their sidewalk,” Town Attorney Leonard Berkowitz said. “It’s virtually impossible to enforce this ordinance.”

Michele Reed, of Provincetown Lane, said she and her husband like to walk but have found that many property owners along North Buffalo Road do not shovel their walks.

The Town Board adopted the snow-clearing requirement in September 2008 after opposition from a number of businesses owners, who said it was impossible to clear snow in areas where state plows repeatedly push more snow and ice onto the side of the road and sidewalks.